PDA

View Full Version : Why is Lineage so important to some people?

SantaClaus
11-28-2001, 03:51 AM
Ok then I'm an instructor under Ashida Kim. Who wants to attend my seminar. How about Master Iron Kim?

Now I say that I'm a Master of Chen style tai chi with strict chen lineage to the founder and recognized by the chen familly.

Or I'm a san shou fighter and Cung Le is my coach.

Lineage not important? In your dreams.
Can I say that Cung Le is my coach when he wasn't? And sell videotapes? I'm using his good name. 50 years from now its just as wrong. Lineage is important, you should give respect where respect is due and not try to leach off of people.

HO HO HO
http://thumb-2.image.altavista.com/image/100933751

Mr. Nemo
11-28-2001, 04:05 AM
Good points.

Of course, lineage is not the only thing that's important. And lineage can too easily be faked nowadays.

joedoe
11-28-2001, 05:02 AM
Yes, lineage can be important. But a good lineage does not mean you are a superior artist/fighter. It just means that you have learned from a line of good artists/fighters.

cxxx[]:::::::::::>
You're fu(king up my chi

logic
11-28-2001, 05:14 AM
It's not only who you learn from or the styles you know. But what you put into it.

Honest Neutral Clarity

thumper
11-28-2001, 06:40 AM
that's true, but at the same time if i see a seminar by someone who has a great lineage, i am more enticed by that one than by one of a lineage that i don't hold in as high esteem. that's just my warped reality though.

'either you like reincarnation or the smell of carnations'

joedoe
11-28-2001, 06:50 AM
That is fair enough. However, are we talking about attending lessons (i.e the quality of the art/teaching) or are we talking about the ability of the fighter? Obviously you want to learn from the highest quality teachers, but just because you learn from a high quality teacher does not mean that you are automatically a better fighter or more skilled in the MA.

You're fu(king up my chi

EARTH DRAGON