PDA

View Full Version : difference between the self-defense and the self-defense for women

Castlevania
11-24-2001, 05:19 PM
Give me your thoughts.

The Willow Sword
11-24-2001, 10:15 PM
i have some experience in this relm. Womens self defense is a lotmore intensive than say a regular male or even co-ed self defense class. women are more likely to be attacked than men,,and more likely to be attacked from behind or blindsided.
when i have taught self defense in mixed classes i try to make it practical for the women.
in self defense classes we tend to get more theoretical than practical. the simplist action is far often the better action.and most women do not have the strength to bind a man down, or do things that would take more strength to execute rather than say "running from your attacker or say yelling out FIRE instead of HELP. i think that lack of awareness and fear kill more women a year than car accidents do.
some statistics: more women are attacked or raped by someone they know.
most attack cases and violence with women happen at HOME rather than say "at a bar".
FACT: carrying a hand gun in your purse will not make you any safer. it will make you FEEL safer,,and that is what kills women as well.
reason? the attack will happen when you least expect i to and it will ,9 times out of ten, come from behind or to the side.

i advocate the carrying of a fire arm LEGALLY and with training. and to those women who read this that have a gun. if you have to walk across that parking lot at night, grab your gun and hold it close. that will increase the chances of survival and when the atacker sees what you have in your hand at the time,,HE WILL not attack you.
those are my thoughts,
MAny Respects Willow sword

Whatever you think i am or want me to be,,, i am.
Luke?! Luke?! dont give into hate. That leads to the dark side.
Obi Wan Kenobi,,star wars, empire strikes back.

sniper
11-24-2001, 11:09 PM
JUST MY OPINION