PDA

View Full Version : WC judo and the 1 inch punch

Tainan Mantis
11-13-2001, 06:19 AM
In a previous post called WC and mantis I asked how WC would deal with a sleeve grabbing fighter if both wore that type of clothing.

I understand that WC is famous for its 1 inch punch. This seems like a good tactic to use against a sleeve grab-or both sleeves grabbed- as there is sure to be at least an inch of leeway to deliver such a technique.

So why didn't anyone mention this technique?
And do you think it would wwork?
Or have you already done it on a sleeve grabber?

straight blast
11-13-2001, 12:05 PM
Good question. I'm pretty curious myself. I have no personal experience of this technique but I would assume that it'd be good up close. Somebody enlighten me!

"Pain is merely weakness leaving the body"

Martin Foot
11-13-2001, 12:34 PM
Inch punch is really a demonstration technique; it shows the principle that with good structure one can generate a large amount of power in a very short distance. One would theoretically be attempting to applying these principles in all strikes.

Regards
Martin Foot
Body Mind & Spirit Kung Fu

joy chaudhuri
11-13-2001, 04:23 PM
One inch punch is a demo. The key is issuing short power immediately upon contact.

Martin Foot
11-13-2001, 04:56 PM
What are you trying to suggest in your statement Chaudhuri

Martin Foot

joy chaudhuri
11-13-2001, 05:01 PM
Clear as daylight to me. I was agreeing with your previous statement.

joy chaudhuri
11-13-2001, 06:00 PM
You asked about- why not an one inch punch against a grab. A one inch punch is just for demo.
Good wing chun does NOT depend on a single technique...much dpends on knowing the open line.
But the principle of short hand explosive power remains.Depending on the sensing- the grabbers
grabbing hand can come crashing back into the grabbers face or body-destabilizing him to boot.