PDA

View Full Version : The Idea of "Sticky Sword"?

Fei Hou
11-13-2001, 10:02 PM
I posted this on the main forum and did not get many responses. I figured take it to our home.

I wanted to discuss the idea of "sticky sword" if it even can be applied. I am a returning student to Modified Wing Chun. Here is the question..........
How and if could you transfer the forward energy into and against your partner? What to feel for regarding openings?
To set up a example, face the center line, stay forward, and cross swords on the "Strong" ( that is located between the guard and the middle of the blade). I would think that the advantage goes to the last one that moves because the "defender" would wait to read ther energy. Most of the experience in Chi Sao leads to going with the direction of a opponents exagerated move or lack of. Inside you go up the center,to the outside and using Pak,Tan or what ever. This has lead me to strikes with the pommel or butt of the sword against the opponent.
I have been training with the Medieval Long Sword about a year and have come to a level where closing and grapling and Chi Sao techniques are required. At this range the swinging action of this type of sword changes to a short staff style called Half Swording in Historical European MA Locks, binds and disarms are at this level.
What do you think?

In addition to this topic, I have come accross this site, which maybe should be left for another day. This can't be real!!!
http://home.soneraplaza.nl/qn/prive/wengshunkuen/longsword.html

Rash words are like sword thrusts, but the words of the wise bring healing.
Proverbs

S.Teebas
11-13-2001, 10:29 PM
If your asking how our chi sau sensivity techniques can translate over to your sword work, this is what i think:

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> What to feel for regarding openings?
[/quote]

Nothing! If you feel somthing there is no opening, just an obsruction.