PDA

View Full Version : I'm about to enter the world of wing chun...

KungFuGuy!
11-27-2001, 12:56 PM
But before I do, I'd like to know a few things.

1) Not that it's overly important, but how effective is it on the street?
2) Do you train in any weapons? If so, which are normaly trained?
3) Do you think it would be a good idea to cross train in bjj?
4) How is sparring handled? How much padding, and how much contact?
5) I've been training in martial arts for ten years, mainly in taekwondo, jiu jitsu, and kempo. How hard will it be for me to adjust to wing chun?
6) How much of an emphasis is put on conditioning during an average class?
7) Most importantly, is it fun?

Thanks in advance for answering my questions, and I can assure you that they won't be my last :)

jesper
11-27-2001, 02:36 PM
Ok just a few quick answers.
Very, if you train hard. Remember that technics are only a part of a real fight

Normaly you train with two sets of weapons; Long staff and double knife, but not until an advanced stage. Many crosstrain with other styles though. Mostly Escrima and Kali which are philipino weapon styles

Do you like to wrestle, then do that. Otherwise dont. Its not necessary.

Depends on which lineage. Some lineages start sparring from day one, others dont spar until more advanced stages. Mostly you spar with gloves, headgear and shin protection. But it really depends on where you train

5) I've been training in martial arts for ten years, mainly in taekwondo, jiu jitsu, and kempo. How hard will it be for me to adjust to wing chun?
How good are you at adjusting? The hardest thing for many is to adjust to the close combat of WC

Depends on where you train. Ask your local sifu

Thats really up to you. Some people like it alot, others dont. Try it out yourself

rubthebuddha
11-27-2001, 07:59 PM
nuff said. ;)

-rtb

straight blast
11-28-2001, 12:36 AM