PDA

View Full Version : What is "Hands Floating on Water"

BeiKongHui
11-15-2001, 11:09 PM
Thanks!

I have learned silence from the talkative, toleration from the intolerant, and kindness from the unkind; yet, strange, I am ungrateful to these teachers.
--Khalil Gibran

honorisc
11-16-2001, 12:57 AM
Likely a description of how the hands shouldb. be in a body of water. Put your hands on top. Don't push down. Don't lift-up. This is how your hands should be, whatever you observe at the water body~

Very some such, perhaps might have been, likely say some, some not.

BeiKongHui
11-16-2001, 08:05 PM
Is anyone familiar with the Qigong posture "Hands floating on Water"?

I have learned silence from the talkative, toleration from the intolerant, and kindness from the unkind; yet, strange, I am ungrateful to these teachers.
--Khalil Gibran

monkey mind
12-11-2001, 08:53 AM
I don't know it as a "qigong" posture as such, but when I studied Bagua, Hands Floating on Water was the second of the inner palms we learned (i.e., a posture held while walking the circle): back straight, hips tucked, eyes gazing straight ahead, arms slightly forward, down and out, hands near waist level with palms facing down. As mentioned above, the sense is neither that of sinking (as in the first inner palm) nor of rising (the third inner palm) but of effortless floating. Hope this helps.

PlasticSquirrel
12-20-2001, 07:26 PM
i think i know what you are talking about, beikong. i think i even know the posture you are referring to (from zhan zhuang). whether i know the posture is inconsequential, though, because if i know the concept and share it with you, then you will understand the posture.