PDA

View Full Version : Chi

Sec
11-26-2001, 05:21 PM
Hello
I am still very new to kung fu (10 months) but I would like to start learning about Chi and how it may help my M.A.
Are there any exercises that help build Chi, can anyone explain how it feels? Some people have told me that while doing forms use your mind, ie: whilst palm striking think of your strike breaking down a wall etc
Any help, other ideas or advice would really be good :)
Thank you in advance

thumper
11-26-2001, 06:23 PM
here's a real simple exercise you can do to feel chi in your palms.
stand with feet comfortable length apart (shoulder width). hands at sides. relax body. close eyes.
then, turn the palms up and slowly raise the arms to shoulder level. when they get there, turn the palms back down, and slowly lower the arms to your side. take a few seconds and repeat. when i say slow, i mean at least 8-10 seconds when raising and lowering the arms. you can do as many reps as you like, but at least 15-20.
breathe comfortably, don't worry about matching the breath to the movement.
think about nothing except the feeling in your palms. in fact don't THINK at all, just FEEL. don't worry about what to feel, just feel your palms. you can imagine (if you need something to think about) that your palms are like nostrils and that your inhale and exhale pass through your palms.
if and when your mind starts to wander and think of your wordly matters, just return the mind to feeling the palm. the more you practice returning the mind to the palms, the less and less your mind will wander.
keep the chest and shoulders relaxed throughout the movements. in the beginner stages of kung fu (well, i'm still a beginner in essence), i had a hard time with my shoulders rising and becoming tense and my chest rising and sticking out. keep the shoulders relaxed and the chest relaxed.
chi is basically your life energy. the more you practice this exercise the deeper the feeling will get.