PDA

View Full Version : Is Manits USEFUL?

blgcold
11-29-2001, 11:56 PM
I'm fairly new to the Praying Mantis style. I'm curious to know how well it applies in street or even sparring combat. I know You may have heard this type of question before, regardless i'm still going to ask it. I'm only looking for opinions from those who have practiced Mantis, and have used it in a real fight.

Thank You

bamboo_ leaf
11-30-2001, 12:52 AM
With a handle like that I would think that you would find out shortly how useful it is. :)

bamboo leaf

kungfuyou
11-30-2001, 02:11 AM
I'm curious myself. I might be moving and there is a teacher that teaches 7 Star Mantis. This is basically the only CMA in the area. Wondering if it's worth it to take it, or just drive a LONG way for training.

Hope you and I find the answers we are looking for! ;)

Mantis9
11-30-2001, 02:32 AM
What area are you moving to?

chrisreed
11-30-2001, 04:56 AM
it has worked for me.

dedalus
11-30-2001, 02:19 PM
I've done some sparring and chi-sau with some hard-core qixing tanglang guys. They were very strong fighters (in the sense of hard blocks, kicks and strikes) and the footwork was quick and dangerous. I enjoyed the chi sau because I could work with the force they gave me (I practise bagua & taiji). I didn't like the sparring because I couldn't defend the kicks too well without attacking too hard, and the strikes I missed hurt :-) Sparring them made me defensive, which was no good.

The mentality of this club was also very hard - perhaps brutal. I think it gave them a certain amount of ego (they also did a lot of external conditioning exercises) but wasn't good for their health (in the gym or potentially on the street).

My overall impression was that they would make good streetfighters to a point. Please note that I am discussing my experience with one club only ;)

Enjoy your training.

chrisreed
11-30-2001, 06:43 PM