PDA

View Full Version : Bagua exercises

northstar
11-28-2001, 11:37 AM
To all the bagua practitioners on this board: which exercices apart from walking the circle holding palm positions do you do? How do they complement your circle walking?

Eight_Triagram_Boxer
11-28-2001, 07:19 PM
Well, a common supplimentary exercise is the "tea cup serving" exercise. You can see an example of one method by going to www.hsing-i.com (http://www.hsing-i.com). There is a short clip there. Also, I like to practice the single palm in a sationary position. I'm sure there are many more that other people can tell you about. I'm still a beginner.

~ETB

blacktaoist
11-28-2001, 07:48 PM
I train every other day with a 50 pound weighted vest that have Iron bars in the vest. The vest have help me establish a powerful root and good balance when ever I practice my Bagua forms.

Training with the vest have develop my power and speed in my Baguazhang hand and foot techniques. Most Baguazhang people that I met don't have any power or root. This is because all they practice is form to establish they so-Called internal power. What they need to do is open up they eyes to the real world of Martial arts.

All styles of Martial arts have auxiliary training techniques used to enhance skills. But I find alot of so called Internal" boxers don't have any skills at all, But alot of external Martial artist that I met have power, root, and skills, even karate fighters that I know was more poweful then a lot of my Baguazhang Martial art brothers that I have met.

Baguazhang Have many auxiliary training techniques That the Bagua practitioner can learn and practice and enhance they shills. But few follow the true way to skill. Many practice the Bagua mouth Method (I-Ching Theory)All you have to do is read a I-ching book, and people call you a Baguazhang Master. LOL