PDA

View Full Version : The first strike?

DelicateSound
12-05-2001, 02:02 PM
I train for the first strike - that's all I need...

A quote from Mr. Geoff Thompson. I don't know what you all think of him, but he brings up a good question: How much better is a "street style" martial art suited to self-defence?

Mr.Thompson shares the idea that on the street you don't need any flashy moves or tournament experience, just a good hard punch and a no-nonsense attitude.

Do you agree?

**BTW - Cracking forum, but I want my old name back!! :eek:

Paul
12-05-2001, 02:28 PM
I think I would pretty much have to agree with that, from personal experience, I'm not an expert on the subject.

Tigerdragon
12-05-2001, 02:50 PM
The problem comes in when you have an attacker that is a skilled street fighter, or someone who can take a solid shot and keep going. In this case it is better to have all the skill you can possibly have. It is always better to have the extra skills then to take a chance with your life.

Just my thoughts.

Mantis9
12-05-2001, 04:44 PM
There is always an inherent weakness in absolute statement like Mr. Thompson's. Someone who knows him, whether friend or foe would take into account his methods, and try to circumvent him.
Of course, there is the possiblity that this would not stop Mr. Thompson from prevailing anyway. I couldn't say, I don't know him.

"Street style" martial arts, I believe have an advantage in that they are usually gear toward awarness of your surroundings and simple solutions that are practical.

The conventional martial arts teach you in an environment where you progressively drill, spar, and critique people of different skill levels. You are training to fight other skilled martial artist. The good first strike might not always work.