View Full Version : Sashes

meltdawn
12-07-2001, 07:56 AM
Does your school use them?

If so, why?

If not, why not?

If so, do you like or not like?

If not, same thing?

And finally, if you do, what's your color system, and what's the criteria for advancement?

Paul
12-07-2001, 11:34 AM
My current school doesn't use them. I prefer it this way. I think there is less ego involved. If you are good you don't need a sash to let everyone know it.

Previous schools that I have been to have used a sash ranking system. I didn't really like it much for a couple of reasons.
1. Who cares what color your sash is? If you are getting beat to a pulp on the street the color of your sash won't save you.
2. There are always those people who are more concerned about getting promoted than actually putting effort into what they are being taught.

azwingchun
12-07-2001, 12:37 PM
I personally don't think the use of sashes is a bad thing. Though as an instructor, I feel that for the newer student it seems to be the sash that carries the importance and not what is actually learned to get the sash. It is in a way an "ego" thing for some. My Kung Fu brothers and I have discussed this issue many times- to use or not to use. We finally decided that it was something we never used for the purposes mentioned above but they would use them for the children classes. Since children seem to lose interest very easily and this would give them something to keep them motivated. This was more thier decision since I do not teach children and they do. It may also sound like a contradiction for us, since the reasons they use them for children is the same reasons we don't use them for adults. Though, young children really don't understand martial training anyway it will hopefully keep them interested until they do grasp the importance of martial training at a later age, and won't need the sashes for motivation. Let's get real most children are put in by thier parents or just because it looks cool in the movies.