PDA

View Full Version : Wonder if its skillful of me to share ?

prana
12-08-2001, 03:49 AM
I wasn't sure if I wanted to share this with the public on the internet, but I gathered that people who don't know me probably would not bother to read such a long passage anyway, so here I share my story.

Background In summary

I have been practising Theravada tradition since I was 14 years of age. This is basically the practise of Shamata and Vipassana and then generating boddhi-citta thought for all living creatures.

In 1999, at the age of 23, I was driving along and I found a monk, in his robes walking at a ferocious speed down one of the roads in Willoughby. I didn't think much of it except, maybe I could help him get to where he wanted to be, though thinking it would be close by.

Anyway, I went about my business, it took abouit 5 minutes and came back towards Willoughby to see if this monk needed a ride to his destination. There he was, he had reached Crows Nest by then, I could not believe it. In terms of walking, he would be the McLaren F1's of paces.

Anyway, I stopped and offered him a lift. I asked him if I could be of any help, which he replied, that he was walking to a place. I said where, to which he said Tibet. He was always chanting, a mantra. I decided that I would take him home and ring the local Vajrayana center.

The phone call, I discovered this Lama was suffering from old age and "dementure". I am unsure what it emasn either but basically, he could not remember his own name sometimes. Though I found it amazing that, through his chanting, his good karma would eventually lead him back to his birthplace. And a freak of nature, I have had this auspicious eevnt of meeting this Lama.

My meditation