PDA

View Full Version : Focus Training

Dan_uk
12-10-2001, 04:53 PM
Mental training?

Im interested to know how some other martial artists train the mental state to be in for a potential situation.

I'm interested to see what methods of training this aspect people have.

Cheers!
:D

Apprentice
12-10-2001, 07:46 PM
I know what it feels like, u jes get the butterflies in your stomach, ur hands feel heavy, n it just feels like theres something in your throat or stomach, and ya lose your focus...what exactly should you do during this time? I only experienced this once, but i didnt' like it, the other fights i've been in, i felt different, i felt in control(cuz i was whoopin buttocks! :cool: ) there must be someway to channel this energy...advice anyone?

Chen
12-12-2001, 05:58 AM
Focus and mental training comes from the mind.

As a martial artist, I am concerned in finding the emotions that enable me to become focussed.

For example, using anger in a fight may cause you to loose certain aspects of your ability. So can you turn anger in to focus? What makes you angry ? can you then take this emotion and apply it to your techniques or drills you practice. Whilst doing this, stay in control, feel the emotion and drive your body and mind harder.

give it ago and compare it to the drills with out this technique.

Satanachia
12-12-2001, 06:27 AM
I know the butterflies feeling all too well :)

We tried to do a bit of aggression training in class, where you have to get into groups of three or so, and you stand in the centre with the two other on opposite sides of you with kickshields, one or both just out of your reach. Basically, its your job to go at both of them as hard as you can while getting fired up and such.

But i've never understood the "get rid of emotion" part of martial arts. It might work for some people, but for me, anger makes me some kind of superhuman freakshow.