PDA

View Full Version : What 'Hallmarks' Tibetan Kung-Fu?

Steven T. Richards
12-11-2001, 12:19 PM
Any thoughts on this, Tibetan Pai people?

There is a huge diversity as I see it in Tibetan Kung-Fu. A similar amount to that in Wing-Chun and SPM. Those systems argue a lot about what is Kosher in their Pai. What about Tibetan arts?

Do some things HAVE to be present? If so what are they?

David Jamieson
12-11-2001, 02:42 PM
The Hallmark of tibetan martial arts is their rarety.

There just ain't much of it around.

They have LamaPai, white crane and Lions roar.
good luck in finding a fully trained teacher in any of these.

Tibet was sealed shutr for the most part by the PRC in 1950.
The Martial styles that were there were not widely practiced to begin with and what can be found in the west is pretty hard to find.

Chinese martial arts are more abundant but Japanese martial arts and Korean martial arts are everywhere.

peace

HopGar
12-11-2001, 04:11 PM
Hey Kung Lek, I'm a student of a Tibetan MA. You need the long arm punches (pau choi, chin choi, kaap choi, chai sen, etc.) and the long blocks as well as the open hand grabs.

David Jamieson
12-11-2001, 11:50 PM
tibetan martial arts are pretty interesting. because of their rarety and because of their similarity to chinese martial arts,and buddhist martial arts in particular.

to me, this is indicative of a link between the chinese and the tibetan martial arts which are similar to each other. the tibetan arts do have the long arm techniques, but they cover all ranges ultimately from the few things i have seen regarding the practice of them.

so i think the martial arts links are via the traveling buddhist monks coming and going from monastery to monastery.

not necessarily to either china or tibet "first", but buddhist martial arts from within temples they were developed and practiced in.

not saying there isn't -any- of the tibetan arts about. just saying it's not abundant.

peace

HopGar
12-12-2001, 07:58 AM