PDA

View Full Version : Help Grounding

jon
12-12-2001, 07:36 PM
I need some tips for how to stay grounded. Im a Hung Ga student and currently doing Tiger Kung fu. My problem is staying grounded in a stance, I can hold my horse low for a decent time so its not so much leg strength as developing my 'root'.
My sifu is constantly picking on me for this. One of our main excercises is to both stand in horse facing each other and simply try and pull your opponent towards you or push them away. Needless to say my sifu is simply wiping the floor with me. To the point where he can use one arm while i use two and still easily rip me strait out of the ground. He both weighs a lot more than me[im skinny] but is also much stronger. Unfortunatly he doesnt view this as any excuse meaning ive simply gotta find a way to stay on my feet.
I need to know if someone has any good excersies that can be done alone to develop root. Im already doing qigung and stance training but i still need more help:confused:
The other one im doing is standing in horse pushing a wall.
grrr I hate trying to ground.
Any help would be very welcome, else im scared my sifu is going to thow me into the roof one of these days:eek:

lightfoot
12-13-2001, 03:25 AM
Jon

your post disturbed me a bit. Maybe it's just the language you use because you're feeling frustrated at not not 'getting' something. If you have this problem, why is your sifu 'picking on' you instead of helping you to find solutions. I could understand it if you weren't prepared to work at it, but it's sounds like you are prepared to work. Especially since you're here asking for help.

Sorry I can't offer any advice on the rooting thing but maybe you should have a word with your sifu and explain the problem you're having, (if you've asked, he's given advice but you want a a little extra help then ignore all the above, just me talking bollocks again)

jon
12-13-2001, 06:31 AM
Thats part of the problem...