PDA

View Full Version : Input needed!

Ex-goalie
12-18-2001, 11:37 AM
Hi everybody, I'm new at this so please bear with me.

I'm posting here as I'm pretty new to the martial arts and was enrolled as a beginner at a school where I was learning muay thai. However 2 mths into classes I sustained an injury to my right hand while playing soccer, this has resulted in my no longer being able to make a closed fist. This has put a damper on my thai-boxing. Since then a friend recommended looking into some "open-hand" styles & techniques, specifically in other forms that I may want to look into. If anyone has any suggestions I would appreciate the help.

Thanks in advance,

Ex-goalie

shaolinboxer
12-18-2001, 12:19 PM
Is this a permanent injury you sustained? What is it that's preventing you from making a fist? Pain that will heal? A shortening of the tendons? Crushed bones?

Details please so that we may give you a better answer :).

Ex-goalie
12-18-2001, 12:31 PM
Actually, a combination of the latter two including a screw implanted in my middle right hand finger. I was kicked, hard, in the hand while covering a loose ball in my crease. It resulted in two broken bones in my hand, and my middle finger was broken in two places which resulted in it being operated on and the screw put in. Most of the pain has subsided and continues to subside. The orthopaedic surgeon that operated on it warned me of restricted movement in the hand, I've already managed to exceed a few expectations in physio, but the middle finger continues to come along slowly. I'm just glad I'm not a concert pianist.

Hope this helps,

Ex-goalie

IronFist
12-18-2001, 01:20 PM
Dude, goalies are bad ass. I used to be a soccer goalie, and then later on a hockey goalie. I was fùcking awesome, too :)

I don't know about your hand... I wouldn't strike anything until it's completely back to normal. You don't want to do any more damage. In the mean time you might want to look in to some internal arts.