PDA

View Full Version : Are there two versions of eight step praying mantis?

phantom
12-20-2001, 12:56 PM
I am just curious, is there a difference between the eight step mantis that the practitioners who are affiliated with James Sun do and the practitioners that are not? Thanks in advance.

MonkSanTe
12-20-2001, 07:38 PM
This will probably cause some controversy, and I'm not an expert by any means. As far as I can tell, there are differences. I've learned a small amount of the Sun (green sash) version of 8 Step, and much more of the 8 step style the way Grandmaster Lin Chun Foo teaches it. I don't feel comfortable going into details about the differences, but they do exist. Sorry, I didn't do a real good job answering your question!

EARTH DRAGON
12-20-2001, 08:58 PM
Their are always going to be differences in different lineages. They can always be compared and differentiated by body type, agaility, flexabliity and years spent leanring. As with any style of martial art different lineages pay different attention to different deatails. varations can even be seen in the same lineage but different schools. So to answer your question I dont think that any two people learn the and teach the exact same. So yes their is some characterisitics that fluxuate between the generations.

Syre
12-25-2001, 03:19 PM
MonkSanTe, I'm curious about Grandmaster Lin Chun Foo. Where does he teach, and does he have disciples that teach?

What else can you say about the differences between the methods, or if you don't feel comfortable discussing that, what can you say about the strengths of the system that you've been studying?

Thanks

phantom
12-26-2001, 09:23 AM
Syre, Sifu George Lisjack Teaches Lin Chun Fu's eight step mantis style at World Gym 540 Soutwestern Blvd., in Hamburg New York, 14075, phone number (716) 646-1674. He is currently studying under Master Lin Chun Fu. As for the differences between his style and Jmaes Sun's, I am curious as well.

EARTH DRAGON
12-26-2001, 09:51 AM