PDA

View Full Version : Advice on NYC schools/picking schools

Desi
12-20-2001, 03:25 PM
I'm a complete beginner to martial arts (not counting a summer camp's worth when I was 10) and I've been looking to find the right school in NYC to begin studying kung fu. However it's become kind of overwhelming and I was hoping for some advice.

There are a lot of schools here, but as far as I can tell the only resources for finding out about them are the yellow pages and a few websites put up by the more techno-saavy schools. I sat in on a lesson and it was *so* far from what I was expecting that I almost gave up on the idea entirely. (IIRC we wouldn't have dropped a pin out of place with our sifu in the room; this school did not subscribe to that philosophy and I was kind of intimidated.)

I think part of my difficulty is that I think I know what would 'fit' as much as a beginner can; I'm very attracted to the idea of learning forms (for many reasons) and would like to have the opportunity to learn weapons forms as well (far far in the future I'm sure). Also I'd feel more comfortable if there were older and/or female students around, although it's not my top priority.

Does anyone know where I could start to find this sort of information, or have any ideas? All advice appreciated, w/ many thanks.

Xebsball
12-21-2001, 08:40 AM
ttt, cos i like to have females here in KFO :D

Mr. Nemo
12-21-2001, 10:42 AM
Most any traditional kung fu school will have you learning forms - the only styles I can think of that don't have them are san shou/sanda and maybe some kinds of shuai chiao. It sounds like you're trying to find a school with the right kind of atmosphere. If that's the case, the only way to find out is to visit the school.

The best I can do is give you the website I give everyone that's ever asked me for a good school in new york - this guy is my sifu (in LA)'s kung fu brother, su yu-chang: http://trinity.psnw.com/~ycsu/mastersu.html

S.Teebas
12-21-2001, 11:45 AM