PDA

View Full Version : chi and forms

SevenStar
12-23-2001, 03:01 PM
To your knowledge, where does the chi building come in? Is it in the breathing, or is it in the form itself? Some of you may know where I'm going with this.

Shaolindynasty
12-23-2001, 03:13 PM
I think from intent. Where your mind goes your qi follows. Also from breathing properly and repitions of movement and proper mechanics(these can differ depending on style but all work, unlike what most of the "internal" guys say). I guess now that I think about it all the aspects are equally as important since one won't work by itself.

SevenStar
12-23-2001, 03:33 PM
so the hard style forms will build it too, then...

12-23-2001, 08:07 PM
It's not so much what you do as HOW you do it.

GunnedDownAtrocity
12-24-2001, 04:38 AM
"I think from intent"

you took my sifu's words right out of my mouth dude.

i am very new to internal work and am also a little drunk right now, so i apologise if i don't make any sense.

ultimately i think it's all about mastering your body, mind, and spirit. it comes in three phases like learning to crawl, walk, and run.

"breathing properly and repitions of movement and proper mechanics"

as a newb for me now i must simply keep my back naturally straight while remaining rooted and breathing into my daichen. i also do 4 breathing sets daily (well .. 5 times a week on avarage) i think that this is all physical, and along with working out and technique work, you are mastering the body.

for the mind you must have intent. i haven't fully grasped this yet, but every strike must be thrown completely though your opponents space (even if it's slow or without snap when sparring) ... and every movement has purpose. you guard your space like a tiger's kill and take what space your opponent thinks is his. you go in like a fat man at a buffett . .. you're there to consume. i think this is where you start listening for chi. when your ears are open and you are concentrating on what's going on.