PDA

View Full Version : Is there any real point to training??? NOT a troll post....

MantisKungFu
11-11-2001, 01:24 AM
Well I'm a newb when it comes to fighting and martial arts, which is probably evident by my question. I'm thinking of joining a local Kung Fu Academy that teaches a variation of Praying Mantis ( www.vermontkungfu.com (http://www.vermontkungfu.com) check it out if you want). I would be joining in about a week or so. Over this waiting period, I've been reading a lot of message boards and running things over in my head. This is what I've been thinking/come up with:

If I train (lets say do classes 2-3 times a week and then train on my own on the other days) would I actually be able to defend myself in a fight after a couple months? I read stories how when it comes down to a fight, it doesn't matter what've you learned and study because it's an entirely new situation. People can't think straight and often can't do any techniques, just acting on instinct. Now I know it is different for each individual, but this seems to be the trend I'm reading about.

So to conclude up everything, is paying $80/month to learn a variation of Praying Mantis worthwhile or would I just be better off to work out on my punching bag, lift some weights, and go for runs. I just want to know what you all think. Thanks,

-----------------------------------------------------
"It is better to be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt"

honorisc
11-11-2001, 02:22 AM
After you learn the Horse-riding stance (ma bu~) you will be better prepared to defend yourself. Stances are one of the first things taught after or within exercises/basics.

Not everyone who has posted here has my understanding of things Kung-Fu. But it is My say, that you would certainly have the tools to better defend yourself, after within a few months of taking Kung-Fu at that School.