PDA

View Full Version : Aikido vs. striking arts

GreyFox81
12-27-2001, 02:24 AM
i have been studying kungfu for 8 months now and i had went to a aikido class not too long ago alot of thier moves looked unrealistic to me and lloks as if they put alot of emphasis on doing joint locks to the arms or hands. it is very hard to pull off a armbar and stuff cuz alot of people throw little quick jabs now what if i was fighting someone who was practicing aikido i would
just do a whole lot of lowkicks and knee strikes
i just want to know do they have defenses against that and being grappled.

yuxiang
12-27-2001, 04:27 AM
Try it out. Ask one of the Aikido students to spar with you. Use the time to test out your theory on low kicking and stuff.
Post your results.

No_Know
12-27-2001, 05:27 AM
They might move around your low kicks to the inside or to the outside, then off balance you in some way. If there's a struggle they would likely bring you to a halt with alock from which you could not move or throw you.

Knees would be worse for you to throw to an Aikido doing person. There is more opportunity to off-balance you.

If you are jabbing you are not committed to an attack of significance and are trying to setup for a significant attack with the distraction of a jab or jabs.when you do commit, the aikido player will take your striking limb. They don't have to lock it, merely lead you far enough with it. They don't have problems changing focus or directions, however many times.