PDA

View Full Version : Salutation Question

sam58
12-30-2001, 05:04 AM
I have noticed a difference in the way salutations are given between practictioners. In some instances it is given with the left palm covering the right fist. In other instances it is the other way around (right palm covering left fist).

Is there a proper way of doing this (right or left)? Any insights would be very helpful.

Thanks,
Fang Xuman

Goldenmane
12-30-2001, 05:23 AM
I'm by no means an expert, but at the time of reading no-one had yet replied, so I'll jump in and make a comment or two.

The method of performing the bow seems to vary from style to style, and even from school to school. Some styles don't even incorporate a bow, though most of the "traditional" styles seem to incorporate them in the performance of forms. Some are performed with the hands touching together in front of the body, some with the hands extended. Sometimes they are done with open palms, sometimes with one palm and one fist, sometimes with bost fists, and there are more variations.

By far the most common seem to be very simple variations on the palm + fist model, either touching together or facing out (toward the opponent, if you will). Frankly, there seems to be no "right" or "correct" way of performing this. Each has it's significance, and is pretty much intricately bound up in the style and lineage. in my experience, the most common variations use a closed right fist and open left palm... though as Isaid, it is entirely dependent upon the history of the style.

-geoff

tnwingtsun
12-30-2001, 06:17 AM
"Began studing TKD in the early 80's and reached 1st degree black. Stopped for a number of years and then began training in T'ai Chi. I have been doing this for about a year. "

Theres more to salutations than meets the eye or symbolic

jester,if you are a student of T'ai Chi look at you opening moves,

both have fighting applications and both old and new CMA