PDA

View Full Version : Boston Kung Fu Role Call

Ford Prefect
01-03-2002, 01:20 PM
Hi all,

Just wondering how many people are still on here from Boston and how many new Bostonians are on the forum. Where do you guys train? Any of the old members go to see Rev's comedy act any time lately?

Myself, I currently train JKD and BJJ with Joe Maffei. I trained BJJ and got my blue belt from Roberto Maia (boston bjj) and was captain of my college's boxing team for a year and just a member for another. I also trained Kempo Karate for a few years when I was a wee tike, but I don't really count that. ;) Oh, I also trained with Park Bok-Nam's Ba Gua group for 6 months before leaving it for BJJ. Other than that, I've dabbled with Folkstyle Wrestling, Judo, and Muay Thai.

Ky-Fi
01-03-2002, 03:40 PM
Hey Ford,
I'm still around here. Currently taking Taiji saber weekly with Dr. Yang up at the North Andover branch. I had been doing the weekend seminars for a few years at the Boston school, but living on the North Shore, I've found a 30 minute drive through country roads up to North Andover MUCH preferable to a 50 minute drive through hell down to Boston :). Also, weekly classes give me more time to absorb stuff---those weekend seminars are VERY intensive, and sometimes it's hard to keep the mental focus by day 3. What with work and some grad classes, I'm not training too hardcore, but I enjoy it a lot. This class goes on for another couple months, then I think he may offer a class on Taiji staff, which I would be very psyched for.

There's so many other martial arts around here I'm interested in, but man, I feel like I barely have the time to practice what I should be practicing in Taiji.

I haven't been in to see the Rev since we went in 2000---is he still doing the shows? Why did that bum quit posting here :)?

Ford Prefect
01-04-2002, 07:36 AM