PDA

View Full Version : what is wing chun?

CanadianBadAss
01-05-2002, 07:15 PM
The SLT is the nucleus of WC, every thing else stems from it; so if one lineage does the SLT with their muscles flexed, with "dynamic tension", and the other does it really relaxed the end result will be two very different styles of WC... They both look the same from the out side, and both have a few similar principles (economy of motion and what not) but I'm sure most of these principles could be found in JKD, but that still doesn't make JKD wing Chun... Are they only called WC because they both started from the same place? What makes Wing Chun Wing Chun?

straight blast
01-05-2002, 09:01 PM
Very good question. I'd actually like to hear the answer more than hearing the lineage arguments that are about to ensue...

Jeff Liboiron
01-05-2002, 10:00 PM
I agree with straight blast. I am also new to wing chun (5 months) and would like to hear what everyone has to say.

vingtsunstudent
01-05-2002, 10:55 PM
having seen a few different way wing chun is performed i to thought that this may make for different versions of the one system but it is surprising how although they may look different, they still feel like wing chun.
on the other hand i have seen wing chun that looks the same & even feels the same but when it comes to use some are used in a far less economical way.
so to answer your question, i would have to say that based upon looks alone you can not tell.
the chances are we will all lose fights, does this make our wing chun bad or does it just mean we came up against a better opponent. just because someone from a, supposedly, weaker version wins all his fights does this now make his version better & we should all jump ship to his version or has he just fought opponents of lesser skill or even is he just a naturally gifted fighter.