PDA

View Full Version : Your first weapon.............

Ross
10-08-2000, 10:21 AM
From what I can gather the staff appears to be the first weapon for TCMA practitioners. What was your first weapon(other than a "sharp" wit /infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif)and how soon did you start to learn it. If it was a staff set was the staff used as a two ended (like the okinawan bo) or a one ended weapon (more like a spear). I'm assuming you are a southern sytlist unless you say otherwise.

R

meltdawn
10-09-2000, 05:11 AM
I started in a northern system, and did indeed learn staff first. a six foot rattan wood thing that makes a cool ****zing sound the faster you go. /infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I was dying to learn sabre first, since I've always loved swords. Alas, beggars can't be choosers. My dad had to lock his Navy dress sword up so I wouldn't play with it... and that was when I was four! I studied some stage combat and "ye olde cumbersome hunk of steel" style, then graduated to fencing. Think it's a "fancy lad" art? I would come home with dime-size welts and bruises all over the right side of my body. Man, those were fun days!

Back to staff: my northern style uses the staff as a double ended weapon. I thought it a simple, boring weapon when I first began. Now I think it one of the best out there.

After sabre came daggers. Now I'm starting some spear.

In my southern style, I first learned butterfly swords. You would think that finding some to fit my small frame would be easy, since kung fu is after all a Chinese martial art. But I had to search everywhere to find a pair short enough. Finally Canada yeilded them. Seems nice stuff comes from Canada. /infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif