PDA

View Full Version : Who all does grappling styles?

Jacki
01-07-2002, 07:42 AM
Hi Everybody!

I am just curious to see how many of you do grappling and would like to know more about the kind of grappling you do.
I pretty much went from TKD to BJJ so I don't know much about the other styles.

JKSmith

DelicateSound
01-07-2002, 07:44 AM
I used to be really into my Judo. Very efficient style, bit too sport-orientated for my liking though. I could never find a Combat Judo or Traditional Judo club anywhere..... shame really. :(

LEGEND
01-07-2002, 07:46 AM
I'm a 4 year white belt in BJJ( LOL )...I do loveeeeeeeeeee the heel hooks and different ankle locks in SHOOTO though! I'm starting to learn how to wrestle and it's hard hard technical work.

Johnny Hot Shot
01-07-2002, 09:28 AM
I have been practising BJJ for about 6 months now. It's alot of fun but alittle more sport oriented too I think

Jaguar Wong
01-07-2002, 11:51 AM
I'm not really a grappler, but I've had some experience in wrestling and BJJ (The BJJ was taught by a friend who's also a wrestler, so it was a pretty good mix of the two). One style I would love to learn is Shuai Chiao (if anyone knows of a good school in Vegas, I'm more than willing to go check it out). I also do a lot of work with Chin Na, but that's very hard to get to work. I know you're supposed to blend it with the strikes, but I have to get good at Chin Na first.

Judo is also very cool, because the Judoka that I've played with have some of the best balance (base), plus they had great takedowns (they were nice enough not to throw me onto the concrete) when I moved in for a clinch.