PDA

View Full Version : Hakka and Wing Chun

Kong Jianshen
11-10-2000, 02:30 AM
Hi all. I been wondering if anyone knows of any Wing Chun styles partly influenced by the Hakka styles or vice versa? It just seems to me that it would be very likely there was a sharing of information there. Center line, rapid fire attack, trapping, low kicks, the oddly simimliar sticking hands, etc the list can go on. Thanks in advance!

Always seeking to learn,
Kong Jianshen
Humble disciple of the ancient Boxing Arts

kung fu fighter
10-23-2006, 02:22 PM
Hi,

For you guys that train the Hakka Arts such as White Crane, Jook Lum S.P.M., Bak Mei, Lung Ying, etc.

what are some of your percieved weaknesses of the wing chun system?

Ao Qin
10-23-2006, 08:58 PM
I'm no expert of course, but as a very general reply through some limited experience I would start with the "mobility" issue...(from a LY perspective).

However, there is no general "Hakka Art" approach...LY would approach combat VERY differently than a BM student. The key is recognizing the "soul" of the system. Who were the arts founded by? What were the founder's backgrounds? How did they live their lives? What were their beliefs? Did they follow any particular system of morals / values? E.G. - compare the life and teachings of Mohammed to the life and teachings of Jesus. Are there any differences? This can be extrapolated onto even the small area of "Hakka" martial arts. Compare the life experiences and beliefs between LYK with CLC to start. I'm sure similiar differences abound in the Southern Mantis community.

Back to the point in question, WC is a very linear - forward pressing system. Very fast too. But if one uses circular techniques in a clever way (e.g. how can you "deflect" a soy kiew?), an attacker may be able to get past WC's excellent defenses. Also, using the three bridge theory - destabilizing the legs through "checking", sweeping...etc., may help to overcome a WC'er.