PDA

View Full Version : OT: Computer use and your eyes

fa_jing
01-09-2002, 12:34 PM
Anyone else having problems with looking too much at a computer screen? I've been a computer programmer off and on for 5 years. I'm finding that it is getting progressively difficult to focus. I can't stand watching TV after I've been at my computer all day. I have no energy in my eyes for studying computer languages or using the computer for doing anything else at home. It hasn't gotten too extreme, but I noticed that everyone who does computers wears glasses by the time they get to 30 or so. Is there any way to avoid this fate, do any of you use screen guards or anything like that? I'm sick of putting this strain on my eyes.
-FJ

Godzilla
01-09-2002, 12:56 PM
I knew a copywriter who’s eyes were bothering him for over a week. We always complained about a scratchy feeling in the back of his eye. He tried drops and eyewashes but the irritation persisted. When he wasn’t looking into his computer screen he was reading books. Constantly reading he was.

When he finally went to the doctor he couldn’t leave. The doc performed some kind of laser surgery to reattach something that was detached (I guess). The next day he was fine. The doctor told him he could have gone blind if he waited any longer.

Doc told him it was not the computer screen that caused this but the ‘way he looks at it and the intensity with which he reads.’ He always looked like he was straining to see when his nose was in a book. Anyway, take a break from the screen every once in a while. I turn my chair and listen to a song or two sometimes before going back to work.

Truly,
Godzilla

Cipher
01-09-2002, 01:58 PM
I work in the IT field too. And I have noticed that after a few hours in front of a monitor it becomes hard to focus and I have to rest my eyes for a little bit. Some times I play games on my PC for 2-3 hours (not very often though) and it is hard to focus after while.

Aramus
01-09-2002, 02:05 PM