PDA

View Full Version : San Shou vs Wing Chun

DH Crunch
01-10-2002, 10:29 AM
I have the option of cross-training in San Shou or Wing Chun right now. I've been involved in JKD and BJJ for a few years, so I can see positives for both arts. Wing Chun would be cool to learn since it's at the base of JKD, but San Shou would be cool to learn since it blends striking and takedowns so well. Can somebody help me make up my mind?

LEGEND
01-10-2002, 11:29 AM
hmmmmmmmmm...
depends on your body build...
What's yours???

SanShou Guru
01-10-2002, 11:50 AM
Does not depend on body type but where would you train San Shou. There are few good schools so you mey get more out of Wing Chun.

Mutant
01-10-2002, 12:03 PM
Both are excellent training and would be useful to incorporate into your current methods.

I train in both wing chun and san shou. before that I studied other traditional Chinese Martial Arts. They both help me to grow and understand better what I had been learning in the past, as well as continue to develop as a martial artist.

As far as choosing one over the other, it really depends on what you want to emphasize and/or use it for and what your physique and personality is like...they are very different...but not nessesarily mutually exlusive, I use much of what I have learned in wing chun in san shou sparring (although it may not be obvious to see)