PDA

View Full Version : S.Teebas latest thought!

S.Teebas
01-12-2002, 03:47 AM
If wing Chun is based on natural movement. Does that mean we already know it...just don’t yet recognise it?

Should we spend all our time practicing what we know, or instead be searching for what it really is.

I mean, what our perception of wing chun is today...will probably be 180 degrees of how we see it in 10 years (provided we advance).

What do you think?

whippinghand
01-12-2002, 01:01 PM
Originally posted by S.Teebas
If wing Chun is based on natural movement. Does that mean we already know it...just don’t yet recognise it? It means that we had it when we were born, but was undone starting from that point on.

Jeff Liboiron
01-12-2002, 01:16 PM
yeah, we may have been born with it, but i didn't know how to move my body naturally until i started learning wing chun.

Martial Joe
01-12-2002, 02:22 PM
I think it means it is natural to the human body structure...

old jong
01-12-2002, 03:36 PM
We know that newborn baby can naturaly swim if putted in water but I don't think that they can fight!
I think like Joe that wing chun motions are natural in the sense that you don't need to develop a great deal of physical flexibility to be good at it. I think mental flexibility is more usefull.
We could say "we don't kick the head or punch the toes!";)

straight blast
01-12-2002, 06:06 PM
One of my instructors yesterday explained the natural shape of WC really well. I was standing with my hands clasped behind my back. He pointed out that my arms were bent at precisely the angle that they are used at when guarding or forming the triangle structure. He then pointed to one of the Japanese girls there. Her right hand was hanging low, but her left was resting on her hip, and once again her arm was at the correct angle.

He was able to point it out in about six of us just by the way we were standing comfortably. The Wing Chun arm postion/angle is about as natural as it gets.