PDA

View Full Version : Bong Sao

IronFist
01-14-2002, 12:07 AM
So in bong sao, you're deflecting the punch off the outside edge of your forearm, right?

Sorry for my stupid little questions :(

Iron

straight blast
01-14-2002, 12:44 AM
I may be horribly wrong here (but hey, I'm new to this) so feel free to correct me, but I think the Bong "family" (this is how I've heard it referred to as) consists of making contact with the outside edge of your forearm, yes. I have also heard it said that the Tan "family" (there goes that word again -:D ) consists of making contact with the inside of the forearm, and so forth.

Hope this helps...

Actually, I just hope that I've got it right!

Ish
01-14-2002, 05:11 AM
So in bong sao, you're deflecting the punch off the outside edge of your forearm, right?

I wouldn't say that the outside edge of your forarm is deflecting the punch, it makes contact but you avoid the punch by turning and allowing the punch to continue past you.

vt108
01-14-2002, 06:40 AM
Good structure of your Bong Sau should be enough to deflect the punch. You add the twist when your Bong Sau starts to deflect the punch.
Besides we have few types of Bong Sau. "Normal Bong" like in Siu Nim Tau, "Power Bong" from the Chum Kiu, "Low Bong" also in Chum Kiu. If we are talking about "normal Bong" it is like I said before. Angles of your arm are very important in Bong Sau. And the most important it should go up and forwards. To many people make it only upwards and Bong doesn't work. And remember your arm must twist because it also helps to deflect the hand.

anerlich
01-14-2002, 08:20 PM
Tan can deflect with inside, outside, or back of forearm.

whippinghand
01-14-2002, 10:26 PM
Originally posted by IronFist
If all you want to do is "deflect" .... but there are many uses for the bong sau, on which depend the side of the bong sau.

IronFist
01-15-2002, 12:16 AM
but there are many uses for the bong sau, on which depend the side of the bong sau.

care to share? :D :D :D