PDA

View Full Version : Cinnibar Palm

Pakmei
01-15-2002, 05:19 AM
Hi Guys,

Anyone in here heard of the 'Cinnibar Palm' technique?

I believe that it is a Shaolin skill that was developed by the monks to be able to counter the Shaolin Iron Shirt.

I'm interested in seeing if anyone else knows any more information regarding the cinnibar palm.

I'm currently studying Shaolin Nei Jin 'Qi Gong' otherwise known as the Shaolin Iron Shirt @ college as part of my Acupuncture and Tui Na degree course.

My Qi Gong instructor @ the college mentioned about the cinnibar palm but never actually went into it very deeply.

So if anyone out there knows of some information that they want to share.... then please feel free to post your answer.

Cheers guys

Dave

PlasticSquirrel
01-16-2002, 08:28 PM
i'm not positive about this, but i think that cinnibar is a term that is used interchangably with elixir often.

i have heard of "cosmos palm", and i've heard that it can penetrate golden bell skills. in this area i can not help you out much, but i can maybe tell you a little.

iron shirt uses conditioning
golden bell uses qigong

iron palm uses conditioning
cosmos palm uses qigong

...or so i've heard.

golden bell and cosmos palm are considered to be higher than the iron skills, though. really, though, skills like golden bell and cosmos palm can be acquired through normal qigong exercises, if you practice the right ones, and with the right intention, if necessary. of course, this would take longer than a more specialized, time-tested system, but you would also have other advancements in skill parallel to the ones you set out to acquire.

interestingly enough, shi guolin (nicknamed the "iron arhat"), a shaolin monk living in new york, is attributes his iron shirt skills to the yijinjing (damo's muscle/tendon-changing classic). this is interesting because many people at shaolin practice iron shirt with the patting/conditioning methods.

Pakmei
01-17-2002, 01:48 AM