PDA

View Full Version : Power to body weight ratio

Ka
01-16-2002, 09:15 PM
I may be a little fella but I think training for this is really important not just for fighting but for any sort sport you might do.Any thoughts.

Robinf
01-17-2002, 08:24 AM
I'm in agreement for myself. I'm working on that for me. I'd like to at least be able to lift my own body weight over the chin bar. I can hold it up there and lower down slowly, but darned if I can actually pull up over it.

I really don't know why this is so important to me. You don't have to do this to be in "good shape". Or do you?

Robin

Sharky
01-17-2002, 10:22 AM
"I'd like to at least be able to lift my own body weight over the chin bar. I can hold it up there and lower down slowly, but darned if I can actually pull up over it. "

just keep doing that as slow as you can and you'll soon be on your way - very soon.

Robinf
01-17-2002, 12:24 PM
Thanks, Sharky.

I've been doing this for a few months. I can pull half way up. Although, I did have a small breakthrough. It used to be that I got locked up once I hit that half way point, now it feels like I just don't have the strength to do. I suppose I just need to put all my effort into one and get my chin up there.

Isn't a lat pull the same motion as a pull up? If so, I can pull down more than my body weight and let it up slowly, so why can't I pull up my body weight?

Robin

ElPietro
01-17-2002, 12:50 PM
On thing on strength relative to size. It isn't directly proportional. Someone who is twice the size of another will not be able to lift double the weigth. Basically as you add more strength and muscle more overall body mass in general is added. But you will not be adding strength as easily as you add mass so you will not keep up is basically what I'm trying to say.

Sharky
01-17-2002, 12:50 PM
if you can, try and get a handsome male to help you up all the way, and then you, yourself, have to control the coming down bit.