PDA

View Full Version : Power Generation in Bagua

jon
01-22-2002, 03:34 AM
Hi everyone, Im a five year student of Hung Ga and have just recently started training under a very skilled sifu in Bagua. Im planning to stick with both styles but obviously keep the practice seperate and not attempt to mix the skills untill im ready.
I have only had a few lessons [detailed ones though] and already i have noticed there is a lot more in the back and spine and kidneys in terms of power generation.
Is there a chance someone who understands Bagua well could tell me a bit about the powerchain for the system and how it expresses force. Im just wanting to compare with my Hung training which uses a lot more pushing though the floor and moving the back as solid unit.
Any replies would be greatly appreciated.

Sam Wiley
01-22-2002, 06:41 PM
"The Waist is an axle, the hands are revolving wheels."

This is a classic saying in Bagua, and it means that the waist must guide all movement. For instance, while you are walking the circle, your waist must drive your legs in the stepping, and when you change directions, your waist must make your body move. When you practice the form, your waist must drive all the movement. If you move one hand only, your waist must make it move.

By learning to use your waist to lead movement, you enter into the area of whole body power. Soon, your whole body will be powering movement, with your waist driving everything along, like a catalyst. Basically, the waist sends the power out along the extremities. You can achieve great power this way.

On top of this, Bagua uses a lot of torquing movements, winding the body up in great tight spirals and releasing them. It's a bit like a bomb going off. Most of the movements in Bagua are done in spirals, but there are a few that are vertically powered, a bit like Xingyi (at least in my style, I can't speak for all of them).