PDA

View Full Version : To all the personal trainers

Robinf
01-22-2002, 01:10 PM
Hey guys,

I have some questions. This is about getting a job and working as a full time trainer in a gym.

Well, before I ask my questions, I'll ask this one: do any of you work full time in a gym? If so, which one?

My career goal is to become a full time personal trainer in a gym, but I don't know how that pays, or if it pays, and, honestly, what to wear to the interview (that first impression is important).

Robin

IronFist
01-22-2002, 01:27 PM
Hi Robin,

Well, I work part time as a personal trainer at my University's gym. Basically, my work load depends on how many people have signed up at any give time. Since most are students, they can't afford much personal training, which is fine with me, cuz I'm busy enough with homework and stuff.

My career goal is to become a full time personal trainer in a gym, but I don't know how that pays, or if it pays, and, honestly, what to wear to the interview (that first impression is important).

Most gyms pay well. My job is by far the highest paying job on campus, but I've heard that some professional trainers make $25-100+ per hour. If you train a movie star, you will make a LOT of money.

Which leads me to my next point, a little side-vent: What the ****! I was watching this show about how JLo or Buffy or someone was "toning" up for a part they had to play, and they were showing her work with her trainer. What a tool! He was giving her the dumbest exercises I've ever seen in my life. I could do better than him. Sorry if I can't get a job in Hollywood fitness because I don't look like a roid head (no offence to my buddies on gear :) ).