PDA

View Full Version : praying mantis and capoeira

puma
01-24-2002, 11:52 PM
I'm quite sure all of us can agree on the effectiveness of praying mantis kung fu,but how effective do you guys think praying mantis would be against capoeira? Yes...i know you guys are very tired of those style v.s. style type of discussions,but i was watching a movie that had capoeira in it and i was considering how difficult it would be for me if i was fighting against someone who knew capoeira,but then again...i'm only a novice compared to most you guys:D

grifter721
01-25-2002, 04:14 AM
From what I have seen capoeira would take waaaay to long to master it to teh point of street fighting with it, waaaay to many kicks, powerful kicks mind you but they end up taking your eyes off you. Looks like too much energy is expired too. Maybe I am wrong but this is from what I have seen and heard.

Kiasyd
01-25-2002, 04:58 AM
Capoeira uses some good distance between the oponents, unlike Praying Mantis which usually seeks to closes in.

So, my guess is that if the Mantis person manages to get close, he will be in beter position, if not, capoeira will have advantage.

Of course I can be wrong.

-- Kiasyd

Stacey
01-25-2002, 10:42 AM
I think mantis would do great. Many mantis styles are very good at the long range. I think repeated mandarin duck kicks would do him in. Or at least close the range. Capoiera has throws too, but not that much.

Do the jinga for a while. Its really not that stable, its like swinging a large bat back and forth, you don't want to get hit, but get to the inside and its.

COOL RUNNINGS!!!!

ExitusDeorum
01-26-2002, 11:54 AM
It's not so much a question of Mantis vs Capoeira as it is Mantis fighter vs Capoeira fighter.