PDA

View Full Version : What makes a good martial arts instructor?

shaolinboxer
01-25-2002, 07:21 AM
What qualities do you look for in an instructor?

Demeanor? Technique?

How do you know that besides being a good MA, he/she has the ability to help you?

Ray Pina
01-25-2002, 07:41 AM
Knowledge, lots of knowledge. AND, the ability to pass that knowledge on.

shaolinboxer
01-25-2002, 07:48 AM
Right, but some instructors don't have much of a knack for getting their point across. One instructor I had used to ask me to help him communicate techniques to students who couldn't get it after the first few tries....he'd just give up with comments like "you need to figure it out for yourself". Now, I am a believer in the fact that a lot of martial arts learning should be done through observation and experimentation, but not being able to help someone with their front kick shows weakness as an instructor I think.

This scenario would not have been so disturbing had I not been able to help this person learn the kick in about 10 minutes...by trying to find a way to communicate what he needed to do.

Why couldn't our sifu do that?

xiong
01-25-2002, 07:53 AM
I also believe that communication is key. It doesn't necessarily have to be verbal, but the instructor must be able to transmit the concepts to the student.

I think that the ability of the instructor to engage the student is also important. Some people are better than others at keeping peoples attention and making them feel like they are being spoken to directly.

01-25-2002, 09:09 AM
I only train with a sifu who is able to DO as he preaches - or at least had once been able to do as he preaches.

When a sifu cannot walk the talk, I lose respect for that teacher and seek training elsewhere.

Ray Pina
01-25-2002, 09:51 AM
My sifu doesn't think highly of his English, but in fact it is quite good.