PDA

View Full Version : What are the levels in your system?

Syre
01-31-2002, 08:51 AM
I'm curious about the levels in different systems.

It seems that in the system I'm studying, they don't actually teach any real sets for the first couple of years, and you don't spar for the first 6-9 months.

The justification for this is that you have to learn the basic movements (punches, kicks, blocks, etc.) and have to condition your body to the point at which you can actually do them well, before going on to sparring and then to learning the real sets.

After 5 years, it seems, people have learned about 3 of the real sets, but not necessarily the full versions -- there seems to be a "sifu version" of each set with more details and more techniques in it.

Apparently there are more than 20 sets, yet people who have been in the system for 7 years or so know only about 5-7 of them.

Is this unduly slow, or does it make sense to you? How does this compare with your system?

shaolinboxer
01-31-2002, 08:58 AM
We study basic, large movements for the first 3 levels. At the 4th level (after 3 exams) you can begin to learn versions of the techniques that can be applied in more aggressive situations.
Freestyle application also begins at this level.

Weapons classes usually cover advanced material, so the beginning forms you must learn on your own by asking senior students to help you after class.

It takes about 3-5 years to get a black belt, which is considered a real beginner.

You cannot test for a 2nd degree black belt for 2 years after receiving your first.

At third, you must be able to teach...perhaps 300 techniques and variations.

It is a slow process.

red5angel
01-31-2002, 09:07 AM
Hello Syre, what system do you study and who with?
I am in Wing chun, and in my school, it takes atleast a year beforea we do any sparring or any real chi sau. We do a lot of Dan chi sau, basically for the same reasons. We have to have a real solid base before we are allowed to move on.

Syre