PDA

View Full Version : CLF vs WC - Att Straightblast

Eddie
02-05-2002, 08:16 AM
Hi Straightblast,
I saw your site, and read that you do both CLF as well as WC. I also love your posts, so I thought to ask you a few questions about the basic relation or difference in combat between the two arts (if you dont mind).

A good friend of mine also does WC and is also a member of that Ving Tsun Athletic Association that you belong to. I also have a few other friends doing this style. I was practicing some sparring with my friend a while back, basically just playing around. Now obviously the two styles are pretty different in the ideals etc, but I was wondering about the similarities. I am no expert in either style (I know nothing about WC) but to me there seemed to be some similar techniques and ideas (on the surface if anything else). What I want to ask you is, when you fight, would you use techniques or ideas from both styles, kind of mix it together or would you come up with different combos using techniques from both styles (Maybe go from Poon Cui into the WC chainpunch)? Both styles pretty much use hand techniques as a big part of their arsenal, so how much does your WC influence your CLF? The more I train, the more I realise the effectiveness of CLF and the more I think i understand the style. At the moment, I have no wish to actually go study another style (Maybe in the future). I have another friend (origanally from HK) who is a Bruce Lee Freak. He also loved combining different styles (Tai Chi, Mantis, WC etc), but recently he told me that he kinda feels "trapped" because he did not focus more on one style. I cant really explain what that meens, but I I kinda get the impression that he is at a point where he is lost in all the different ideas and concepts of the styles.