PDA

View Full Version : Chiang Jung-Ch'iao's Ba gua

Anthroman
02-07-2002, 12:05 AM
Hello All,
I have studied Chiang jung-Ch'iao's ba gua form (original form) and was reading that he had two versions of his form that he taught. I was wondering if anyone could explain or highlight some of the differences in the two versions. Thank you.
Anthroman

jon
02-07-2002, 12:15 AM
Wow how bizare, i was considering posting on this form as well becouse its what im studying but now you have done it for me:)
To the best of my knowledge Chang Jung-Chaio's other form was called the 'combined form' becouse it combined his Xing-Yi knowledge along with his Bagua knowledge.
My sifu just teaches the orginal and im perfectly happy with that.
My Sigung was a training partner of Chang Jung Chiao under the same sifu though im yet to find out his name as asking such questions is VERY difficualt when you dont speak chinese:rolleyes:
Still i got that part out of him:)
How are you finding the form? Im falling in love with it, im learning the fourth section atm.
My sifu tell me this form is one of the closest to the orginal teachings. Though im sure every linage says that;)

Crimson Phoenix
02-07-2002, 09:57 AM
I study Jiang's bagua with a direct student of Jiang...from what I understand, we have at least two Jiang forms, a basic one and an advanced one.
I don't know much more, because in fact my sifu emphasizes that body structure is everything and that movements are secondary, so basically he teaches you a move and you practice it until you have the correct body structure. So I've been training the basic Jiang eight palm for 1 year and a half, they already mix xing yi in them. But what I am sure of is that after there's "Jiang's baguazhang" (well, the other one also is a Jiang bagua form, but it is just called "the 8 palms"), a much more refined and advanced form. I saw him practice it once, it's quite an amazing form.