PDA

View Full Version : favorite wing chun experiences

rubthebuddha
02-07-2002, 12:33 PM
a truly wonderful class last night really got me thinking about how happy i am studying wing chun, and that although the studies in general are great, i have a few specific times that really stand out. i'm curious what each of yours are, be they during self-practice, class, seminar, chi sau on the beach -- anything.

the one last night for me was finally putting chi sau and chi gerk together for the first time. i've been studying chi sau for a couple years, but actively focusing on chi gerk for about a month and a half now. however, the two have been broken up for skills development. last night was the first time we put the two together and just let it flow.

honestly, i felt like the sky had opened up and the proverbial beam of sunlight hit me. soooo many things began to click and i don't think i've felt that natural in a long time. just letting my arms and legs and whole body just flow were eye-opening for me, and soul-opening, too.

my sidai likes to say that chi sau is better than chocolate cake. when i asked him for an updated metaphor after last night, he said chi sau and gerk together were better than birthday cake.

i had to agree. :)

OdderMensch
02-07-2002, 01:06 PM
useing the toe-ma footwork to stop a throw.

sinking your stance just a little so everything "falls" into place.

seeing a beautiful (well to WC peeps :D ) armlock that come straight from the form.

Pak Da & Oi Mon Choi.

Like Leonardo's sketchbooks, the Cistine chaple ceiling, the 5th shympony, or the roman auquaducts the surviveing work of the great masters still have wonders to behold.

as my Sifu says "a thing of beauty is a joy forever."

txwingchun
02-07-2002, 01:18 PM
Learning a hidden application in a technique that you didn't even see before.

Kuen
02-07-2002, 02:51 PM
I like when we all get together in my Sihings backyard with some Chi Sao, beer and steaks on the grill! Good times!:cool: