PDA

View Full Version : Question about conditioning : /

Akuma
02-12-2002, 04:19 AM
Hi, I was wondering what the deal is with conditioning...I know it is to toughen the body so that getting hit doesn't feel as bad but do you guys know if it is bad for you in old age? Like, will you end up with weak joints and non healthy bones etc??

Also, my other question is, if I want to condition myself am I supposed to keep going until i get bruises or am I supposed to not let it go that far?

thanx :)

note: I'm new to Martial Art and I'm learning wing chun :)

Kristoffer
02-12-2002, 04:48 AM
I think that if u just do it correctly then u wont have any problems when old. Of corze you don't start with hittin full force, you work yourself up. I started lightly hitting logs of wood and stones, trees etc,, now I mostly hit full force. First time doing it, stop when u start to bleed. Massage with liniment or that dit da jow (I used liniment and always have), then let it heal and u repeat, but stop b4 bleeding : )
If u when doing it l<ater will start to bleed, just let it heal and go a little esy next time. Im really no expert on the subject but we alwasy condition in almost every 'class'.

Leonidas
02-12-2002, 07:28 AM