PDA

View Full Version : Many or One?

Shaolindynasty
02-12-2002, 08:06 AM
I know in this day and age most people advocate cross training. Yet as a traditional martial artist I have heard allot that you should stick to one style and master it.

I feel both methods have merit but when does a person go from cross training to style hoping? Is sticking to one style better? Will you be mising a peice of the puzzle or will mastering the system allow you to do fine without that peice?

For people who train multiple styles, how do you practice all of that material? Do you feel you are sacraficeing quality for quantity?

What are the pros and cons of each approach?

LEGEND
02-12-2002, 08:14 AM
I think the first thing peeps need to do is spar within there style...if it takes u 6 months or longer before your instructor allows u to spar in your style then u better question him WHY???

The truth is that some of us are made to do one thing...whether it's to strike or grapple...the idea of style hopping is to find a base style that u can do naturally and like. Once u find that base style u can then focus on crosstraining to address weaknesses that your style cannot focus on. For example wing chun guys feel that side steping and striking a grappler is the best counter to a shoot. However...many have found out that doesn' work! So they pick up some sprawling from freestyle wrestling and just strike.

Royal Dragon
02-12-2002, 08:20 AM
Personally, I belive you sould do you main style 2/3 of the tim or more, and cross train 1/3 or maybe even 3/4 and cross only 1/4

Wait, wait 85% your main style, and 15% cross training?

Anyway, you get my point, spend most of your time on the main style, and cross only a little bit.

You become a style hopper when you spend like 10% on one system, and 10% on another and 10% more on a third style, and then maybe spend only 20% on your main style.