PDA

View Full Version : Attn: Jasbourne......Wing CHun footwork

BoxerChick
02-15-2002, 09:16 AM
Hi Jas,
I noticed in that book on Wing Chun I looked at that
the footwork seems very, VERY similar to boxing.
It seems more flatfooted, but the step and slide stepping is ver
much like what my boxing coach tought me when I first started.
Also the stepping out on zones to the side of the opponent is exactly what we do in our boxing gym.
What type of footwork do you do in your wing chun style?

JasBourne
02-15-2002, 09:35 AM
Well, I'm no expert, so a more detailed explanation would be found by asking the fine folks on the Wing Chun forum. But for the most part, footwork is relaxed and rooted, and there is a lot of what I think (not sure, not a boxer) you guys call a step-shuffle (we call it pic bo), where you step forward and pull your other foot under you and balance your weight there. We use that a lot to close the gap and to free up a leg for kicking.

Serious, ask in the WC forum, we have some VERY knowledgeable folks there :)

Black Jack
02-15-2002, 10:18 AM
Thats a odd comparison,

To me they look like apples and bannas, boxing IMHO being much more dynamic than the WC footwork, one of the reasons it went into JKD over the old WC patterns.

vingtsunstudent
02-15-2002, 10:47 AM
lol
i'm sorry blackjack but you must not have seen much wc footwork.
do you believe a wc man(or woman) just stands around without much movement.
it seems odd to me that any martial art or artist would just stand around & make such an easy target of themself.
the reason for todays boxers moving in the way they do has a lot more to do with the ring & shoes they where.
in the old days when they fought on more unstable surfaces & with shoes that had hard leather soles it was a fact that they shuffled more due to the fact that bouncing around as they do now could have led to falling or injury let alone the stability & power that could be gained from a firm stance.