Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What are you currently working on?

Hybrid View

What are you currently working on?

In your practice?
    I have no idea what WD is talking about.--Royal Dragon

EVERYTHING!

For real. I'm new to internal. I'm focusing on walking/kicking (proper weight) and the first few palms. The first one is a doozy. So much in it. I'm still not happy with the way I'm pulling it off and I doubt I ever will be.

I do have to say I am becoming comfortable with the two handed shielding and this alone has been the biggest break through in my martial art life.

There's so much. Each class I'm blown away. I try to be like a spunge and take it all in, but if I can get home with 2 or 3 concepts to work with, I'm a happy man.

How about you?

Originally posted by EvolutionFist

How about you?
    1. Diagonal Cutting
    2. Beng Quan

That should keep me busy until summer.
    I have no idea what WD is talking about.--Royal Dragon

My S. Mantis teacher was getting heavy into diagnal cutting and different angles to deliver element type blows when I was introduced to my sifu. Its interesting, seeing blows come from a big man from unexpected angles. And the energy is deep, hard to deal with.

I was just thinking about that on my train ride home from class last night.

I'm sure your's has that special internal flavor to it though (man, these art's are great).

Well, enjoy. Have fun and good usage.

Ray

I'm working on what we call "positive" and "negative" circles. These are hand/arm movements done in conjunction with movement of the kua. I've recently had some extra correction on these and I clearly have lots of work ahead of me to do them well.

Seeya

I just recently switched teachers (due to a move) and am now working on a new Tai Ji form (my teacher makes you learn Tai Ji prior to moving on to Xing Yi and Ba Gua). Only gotten maybe a quarter through the form, so that's what my focus is on right now.