Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello everyone

Smile Hello everyone

Hey everyone! I just joined these boards today and I look forward to some quality Kung Fu talk. I've been studying Wah Lum since May 1, and I studied Tang Soo Do for a year when I was 8. Can't wait to talk to you all, later.

Thumbs up Welcome

RibHit
    fm
    RibHit
    “Being fast is fine but accuracy is everything.”
    Wyatt Erupt
    Feeling jumpy!!!
    Thread Killer...>>>
    Tommy M

Welcome to the forum. I take it you're with Sifu Dave Clarkson, correct?

Question

Tang soo do? Isn't this style form Hong YiShian?

Yes, Hua, I study with Sifu Clarkson. Do you know him?
    Paulin, I'm not too sure what Hong YiShian is. I'm new to Kung Fu in general. Tang Soo Do is a Korean art that is a lot like Tae Kwon Do, C.S. Kim is in charge of this in the US.

Originally posted by Ryan
    Yes, Hua, I study with Sifu Clarkson. Do you know him?
    Paulin, I'm not too sure what Hong YiShian is. I'm new to Kung Fu in general. Tang Soo Do is a Korean art that is a lot like Tae Kwon Do, C.S. Kim is in charge of this in the US.
    If Tang--means Tang Dynasty of China, represent Chinese.

Soo--means heand

Do--means way.

Then I heard of Hong was founder of this. Hong was my father's kungfu cusin. It is Chinese art. Has to do with BaGua and XingYi.

If it is not, I am mistaking then. Thanks.

Welcome, Ryan! Train hard!
    There is a great streak of violence in every human being. If it is not channeled and understood, it will break out in war or in madness. ~Sam Peckinpah

Here's an article, Paul...

Tang Soo Do history

And SaMantis...I'm training my butt off

Welcome

Hi Ryan,
    Thanks for the polite introduction.

Paul Lin,
    The Tang Soo Do (Tang Sho Dao) you are refering to was used by Gichin Funokoshi's teacher in Okinawa at least as early as the 1900's.

Gichin is the one who changed the Tang character to another of the same pronunciation which means "empty"