Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CLF Lineage/Branches

CLF Lineage/Branches

Could anybody tell me the difference between the three major CLF branches (assuming 3 is the number). I believe I am part of the Hung-Sing branch. I am very new to the style and I apologize in advance for sounding stupid. My sifu told me the names before but his english isn't so great and neither is my Cantonese. He said somthing about the applications being different and a few other nuances. Thanks in advance

Diu Sao

Diu Sao,

Who is your teacher if you don't mind me asking. Your profile says you are from Los Angeles, and my teacher is from there, but he is not Hung Sing branch. Just wondering...

As far as the differences in the branches...some say there is a lot, but some say there is very little. There might be subtle differences in the way one branch does a Sow Chui compared to another, but it's still a Sow Chui. One branch does not put as much importance to "forms" training as opposed to "fighting" than another branch, but they still both fight Choy Lee Fut. I think it is better to concentrate on the similarities between the branches rather than the differences (my opinion). My Sifu once said I do not see "Hung Sing", "Buk Sing" or "Chan Family"...I only see "Choy Lee Fut." I think he is right when it comes to judging one or the other.

Just my opinions...

Dutch

I agree completely on the seeing the similarities. When I was a mantis practicioner there was constant rivalry between the many mantis systems, even within a single style. I found it frustrating that so many people with so much in common choose to spot the differences instead of similarities. I study under Sifu Ng Fu Hang at Choy Lee Fut Martial Arts Federation. I must say that it is humbling starting a new system but I have no regrets choosing CLF. Thanks for the insight.

Diu Sao

Then Dutch is your Sihing, I think.