Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bagua in San Antonio TX?

Bagua in San Antonio TX?

I have a friend who does MT, and BJJ who is very intetsted in the internals. You know how difficult this can be...I was hoping some of you guys could recommend some very good Bagua or Xingyi teachers in the San Antonio area. I would hate for this guy to get into some crappy school and miss out on what the internals are about.

Sorry...you won't find GOOD Bagua or Xingyi in San Antonio.

Closest you can do is to travel to Houston....

Chinese styles are EXTREMELY limited in San Antonio. You CAN find a bit of Taijiquan and Wing Chun...but not much more.

That's kind of a real bummer to hear. Guess those of us with close good teachers are pretty lucky.

GLW is quite correct. There is very little in the way of CMA here. There are a couple good W/C schools and old folks tai chi. Other than that it's pretty much TKD and Kenpo. And of course the Kali school I just started training at.
    Your intelligence is surpassed only by your ignorance.

You are more likely to fall down the stairs and break your neck if you live in a house with stairs. You are more likely to be in a car accident if you drive to work. You are more likely to be kicked in the nuts or punched in the nose if you practicing the martial arts. - Judge Pen

Where does your friend train at Mike Rangel's?

You are more likely to fall down the stairs and break your neck if you live in a house with stairs. You are more likely to be in a car accident if you drive to work. You are more likely to be kicked in the nuts or punched in the nose if you practicing the martial arts. - Judge Pen

I am not sure where he trains. Sad thing is, he said he took about four months of Tai Chi there, and he had no idea the things I am talking about with internal principles. He was extreemly interested in my blocking and deflecting methods, which I think are really basic kung fu in the internals.