Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Forms

Forms

Hey, I'm quite new to wing chun as I only learned the first form before I had to move to the country and now I have no teacher. I was wondering if any of you guys could recommend a book on the second and third forms as I'd really like to learn them.
    Train hard, live long and prosper.

Find a Sifu

Tri2bmt, You can'nt learn everything you need from a book. You need a Sifu or older class member to help you along. You could read a book on Wing Chun but, do you think you can grasp everything their saying. One mistake and you could be a mile away from what they are asking you to do. Experience from a Sifu will make it a shorter trip. Hope this helps.
    have fun and play hard

your friend
    Jeff Preston

Where do you live?

Maybe there is some schools around you.
    IXIJoeKaveyIXI

If Wing Chun was a man, he would be The Man...

I realize that I need a sifu but there is none near me and I want to continue to study. THis way, with the foundation built during my year and a half with my sifu, i can expand and whenever i find a new sifu, he can correct me. IF there are no books than fine. But if there is I would really like to know the titles and at least apply the principals of the first form to the others.

There are good books.

There are good books,but who do you want to study from is the Question.
    have fun and play hard

your friend
    Jeff Preston

My teacher taught a style that could be traced more or less to Ip CHun. I read his book and the hand placement, tension required and arrangement of movements were the same. So something along those lines. I just need to learn the footwork of the second and third forms and I really want to learn the shooting fingers set.