Thread: I'm Stuck (Stretching thread)

I'm Stuck (Stretching thread)

Okay, I have been stretching once or twice a day for the past two months, taking one day off a week for muscle recovery. I have noticed a large increase in flexibility in my hamstrings. My knees can almost go to the floor when doing butterfly stretches, but my splits feel like I have stayed the same. I am not in a school right now, so I may be doing an incomplete stretching routine. Please let me know what your stretching routine consists of.

Thank you

Go to www.dragondoor.com and check out Pavel's flexiblity book which has great concepts and techniques for flexibility. You can also go to Barnes and Nobles and see if they have his copy of his stretch book. You cana read it for free and take notes since your a student.

AI and PNF stretches is what you should study and not static stretches. I think balistic stretching is good for martial artists as well.
    Mr. Bao

"A gung fu man, then, should be soft-yet not yeilding; firm-yet not hard." Lee Jan Fan

I've been doing yoga for five years. I can bend forward with straight legs, put my entire hands under my feet and still have room to bend my elbows. I can put my leg behind my head. I can stand on my left leg, grab my right foot and hold my right foot out perpendicular to the floor, and put my head on my right knee.

I am nowhere near being able to do a split.

I, of course, have no idea if this is true for you. I just want to warn you so you don't get too frustrated. You are limited by your musculature and bone structure.

It can be quite prohibitive of certain things for certain people.

I can tell you now that I will never be able to do a full split.
    He who establishes his argument by noise and command shows that his reason is weak. - Montaigne

Originally posted by eulerfan

It can be quite prohibitive of certain things for certain people.

I can tell you now that I will never be able to do a full split.